It’s all been leading up to this

“Be bold and mighty forces will come to your aid” -Basil King

In many ways, I knew this day was eventually coming. But it has come with such a swiftness that it leaves me amazed with how prepared I have become. As I write, my time in the comfort of my family, friends, familiar settings, and comfortable habits is wrapping up. Early in the morning, I’ll be headed to the airport to begin my long journey toward Madagascar.

I’ve packed my bags.

IMG_0608

I’ve said farewell to almost all of my family and friends.

IMG_0607

DSCN0160

IMG_0320

 

I’ve prepared my personal life to the best of my abilities.

The only thing left to do is to get on the plane and just go. Take all the courage I can muster, combine it with the love and support from everyone rallying for me, mix in a little common sense, and thrive in this experience.

I’ll take this space to publicly and repeatedly offer my heartfelt and sincere gratitude to every single person who has supported me through this experience so far. I’ve said it to many already, but it’s so amazing to know that I have such a fantastic and loyal group of friends and family that supports me and reminds me that what I am about to do is right. The times when I’ve been anxious, stressed, confused, scared, and even excited and obsessed with my preparations, having their support has helped me pull through some of those deep emotions. So I thank each of them and I can’t wait to share this experience as much as possible.

In the coming weeks, my access to Internet will probably be pretty spotty or even nonexistent. I don’t know exactly when I’ll be able to get everyone updated after landing in Madagascar, but I promise to do so as soon as possible. Communication routines, much like almost everything else in Peace Corps, will just have to be part of the adjustment¬†process.

With that, I’ll leave you with these thoughts on the eve of my departure:

“It’s not goodbye. It’s just ‘see you later.'”

“Onward”

 

4 thoughts on “It’s all been leading up to this

  1. Enjoy and have a safe trip:] I will always be thinking about you since I have known you before you were born. I read your writings and I feel your Mom with me.

  2. Mike, you are going to have a terrific experience in the PC…..enjoy the time and be safe. Look out Madagascar…here comes “mighty Mike”!!!

  3. Let the adventure begin!
    I am so excited for you.
    Safe travels; I look forward to our next communication to learn how the experience is taking shape.
    Much Love, DAD

  4. Pingback: Onward | My So-Called Malagasy Life

Leave a Reply

