Through my lens (part 2)

These are moments from the last week of PST, including swearing-in day, and some of my experiences during the first 2 months living in Andapa.

 

Family photo day with my roommates during PST

Family photo day with my roommates during PST

With members of my host family during the "Community Thank You" reception

With members of my host family during the “Community Thank You” reception

DSCN0347

With the other people from my Tsimihety dialect class on the morning of our swearing-in ceremony

A portion of the rice fields that dominate the scenery in the Andapa basin

A portion of the rice fields that dominate the scenery in the Andapa basin

My friend, Agnes, scraping out the meat from a coconut to make coconut rice

My friend, Agnes, scraping out the meat from a coconut to make coconut rice

Along the main road between Andapa and Sambava, visiting friends in a village in the ambanivolo (countryside)

Along the main road between Andapa and Sambava, visiting Agnes’ family in a village in the “ambanivolo” (countryside)

A man climbs a palm to cut down fresh coconuts for us

A man climbs a palm to cut down fresh coconuts for us

DSCN0472

All the Volunteers in the SAVA region on a recent trip to Macolline Park in Antalaha

A chameleon in Macolline Park

A chameleon in Macolline Park

Vanilla, not ready to be harvested, in Macolline Park

Vanilla, not ready to be harvested, in Macolline Park

A millipede rests on a tropical flower in Macolline Park

A millipede rests on a tropical flower in Macolline Park

Sunset over the lake in Macolline Park

Sunset over the lake in Macolline Park

Inside one of my 6éme classrooms

Inside one of my 6éme classrooms

Chantelle, my favorite rice vendor

Chantelle, my favorite rice vendor

3 thoughts on “Through my lens (part 2)

  1. Wonderful blogging! I love the Macolline photos, well done!! You write beautifully, you choose fab topics and your photos are nice too! So glad we met and hope to see you again soon.

  2. Thank you for sharing photos of people and places in Madagascar. It gives me a better visual (minds eye) of where you are and what you are experiencing. You look great! I am glad that you are assimilating so well to the Peace Corp experience.
    Much Love, DAD

  3. Great photos Mike. Good enough to be published. I really enjoyed the photos of the locals in action, just doing what they do. What a beautiful country. keep up the good work you are doing. Julie

Leave a Reply

